Cinco de Mayo nails

I’m back!

Well, last week I basically had nail disaster week, where every one of my nails decided to snap off, so I had to cut them all down and start again!

As it is the 5th of May today (and I had mexican dinner last night), I was inspired to do Cinco de Mayo nails.

Cinco de Mayo is not something that is celebrated in Australia, but it commemorates the day the Mexican Army had it’s victory against the French forces in the Battle of Puebla on May 5, 1862.

History lesson aside (!), this is what I did to create my look:

I laid my base colours down…

image

I did a green ombre on my thumb using Beauty Attitude nail enamel in Lime Light + Julep in Popova + OPI in Crown Me Already. I wanted it to look like a salt rimmed martini:

image

On my index finger, I used L’Oréal Jet set in Hasty + Stripe Rite nail art polish in black to draw a mustache on:

image

On my middle finger, I used L’Oréal Resist & Shine in 732 (darkest purple) + RapiDry topcoat + nail glue + little square domed studs to make a 3D cross:

image

On my ring finger, I used Revlon Tangerine + OPI Alpine Snow + various Stripe Rite polishes to draw a Day of the Dead skull:

image

On my pinky, I attempted (badly) to do a Mexican flag in OPI Alpine Snow, Julep Popova + L’Oréal Activate:

image

And this is how it turned out:

image

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

x shelley x

Leave a Reply

