Great Gatsby nails

Sunday night is nails night!

The Great Gatsby movie comes out in Aus on May 30, so there are tonnes of art deco/geometric nails floating around on nail blogs and instagram right now.

This is the opening credit for the film, and the inspiration for my black and gold Great Gatsby nails:

image

I’ve never tried nails that require a lot of striping tape, but I already had the tape on hand (I got mine from ebay), so why not give it a go!

Are you ready for a picture-heavy post?! 🙂

This is what I used to create my look:

image

I started with OPI Chip Skip, then Julep Basecoat.

Then I used 2 coats of Kleancolor ‘Gold Bright’: 

image

Plus a coat of Julep ‘Oscar’ gold glitter topcoat:

image

Once dry, I used striping tape to mask out my design. You have to remember which order you put the tape on, so you can take it off in the opposite order! Once taped I put on one coat of L’Oréal Resist & Shine 737 (black with a subtle gold sheen to it). I used tweezers to pull the tape off, it’s easier to use tweezers when you’re working with such thin tape. Tip: You have to pull the tape off while the polish is still wet. This gives a nice crisp line. 🙂

This is how I striped each finger starting from the pinky backwards!

image

image

Ring finger:

image

image

Middle finger:

image

image

Index finger:

image

image

Thumb:

image

image

The final result, close up from my instagram (follow me at @shelleyking)!:

image

The aftermath:

image

Lol! Look at all those itty bitty bits of tape I used!
Ps. I always lay a piece of paper down on my work area – it makes cleaning up faster and easier!

These have got to be one of my favourite nails! I think they turned out great! The black and gold combo is classy, if I don’t say so myself!

And striping tape makes it easy to get your right hand crisp as well – when I do freehand, my right hand always turns out slightly mankier than my left. Lol!

x shelley x

Leave a Reply

